Sandy Bay Yacht Club
Weather Center


 

Tsunami Information Statement Eastern U.S. - Issued When Needed
Check the date

Expires:No;;366382
WEXX32 PAAQ 220055
TIBATE

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS National Tsunami Warning Center Palmer AK
855 PM EDT Sat Aug 21 2021

...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT FOR THE U.S. EAST COAST,
  GULF OF MEXICO STATES, AND EASTERN CANADA...

EVALUATION
----------
* There is no tsunami danger for the U.S. east coast, the Gulf of 
  Mexico states, or the eastern coast of Canada. 

* Earthquakes of this size are known to generate tsunamis 
  dangerous to shorelines near the source. 

* An earthquake has occurred with parameters listed below. 


PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS
---------------------------------

* The following parameters are based on a rapid preliminary
  assessment of the earthquake and changes may occur.

* Magnitude	  7.1
* Origin Time	  2045	EDT Aug 21 2021
		  1945	CDT Aug 21 2021
		  0845	AST Aug 21 2021
		  0045	UTC Aug 22 2021
* Coordinates	  60.3 South 24.4 West
* Depth	  6 miles
* Location	  in the South Sandwich Islands region, South
Atlantic Ocean


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NEXT UPDATE
--------------------------------------
* Refer to the internet site tsunami.gov for more information. 

* Caribbean coastal regions should refer to the Pacific 
  Tsunami Warning Center messages at tsunami.gov. 

* This will be the only U.S. National Tsunami Warning Center 
  message issued for this event unless additional information 
  becomes available. 

$$


 

 



home

Copyright © Sandy Bay Yacht Club. All rights reserved.